Zeehan is a former mining town found in south-west Tasmania, near Queenstown and is now a National Trust classified town.
Named after one of Abel Tasman's ships, the township was built by the riches made in a short lived boom in silver-lead mining, during the 1880s. By 1910 the town was in decline but is again on the rise with the reopening of the Renison Bell tin mine.
Things to do:
Self-guided heritage tours - in the town for heritage buildings including the ANZ bank, Gaiety Theatre, St Luke's Church, court house and post office. Miner's cottages,
West Coast Pioneers' Memorial Museum - a regional biological, geological and historical collection
Locomotive display - of steam locomotives and rail carriages situated outdoors, next to the museum.
Pioneer cemetry - on the outskirts of the town
In the area:
Old Mine workings - 13km E in Dundas
Montezuma Falls - 17 km NE is highest waterfall in the state
Historical Railway - 12 km NE Wee Georgie Wood Railway operating on timetable. Check with Visitor Information at West Coast Pioneers' Memorial Museum
Goldpanning - Corinna, 48 km NW
Fishing - Lake Pieman (50 km NW), Trial Harbour (20 km W) and Henty River (25 km S)