Located in attractive, mixed farming country about 86km south of Perth and 19km inland from the coastal resort town of Mandurah, Pinjarra lies on the banks of the Murray River.
The region was one of the first settled in WA and features some fine examples of colonial architecture. The standout heritage buildings include the Old Schoolhouse in Henry Street - originally constructed in 1862 and rebuilt after floods in 1896 - and Liveringa, an 1880s homestead built by Edward McLarty. They are part of the 1.2km Pinjarra Heritage Trail.
The Heritage Rose Garden in Henry Street contains upward of 300 roses and one of them – a descendant of a plant dating back to 3000 BC - is the oldest known rose in cultivation. Pinjarra also boasts one of the best trotting tracks in the state and a fine racecourse.
But, unfortunately, Pinjarra also has a dark side: On October 28, 1834, Governor James Stirling and his Surveyor General, Septimus Roe, led a group of Royal North British Fusiliers and some colonists to the home of the Bindjareb Nyoongar native people at Pinjarra where a group of Aboriginal men, women and children were eating. The white men set about massacring them and, while Septimus Roe recorded that few of the Aborigines 'were suffered to escape', various historians' estimates of the number of Aborigines slain varies from 30 to 300.