Wheat and sheep dominate the pastures around the attractive town of Beverley at the top of the Avon Valley, about 130km south-east of Perth.
Land was assigned in the area around Beverley as early as 1832 when both the Governor, James Stirling, and Captain Mark Currie were granted land. The town of Beverley was established in 1838, only nine years after the Swan River settlement. The Colonial Surgeon at the time, Charles Simmons, named the town after Beverley in Yorkshire, England.
Beverley’s main street features beautifully-preserved examples of Edwardian, Federation and Art Deco architecture. As you wander around town, seek out the Dead Finish Museum on Hunt Road (built as a hotel in 1872, and one of the oldest buildings in the present town) and St Paul’s Church (built at the original town site, 5km away, in 1862).
The Aeronautical Museum traces the history of aviation in WA and features the state’s first privately built biplane which was flown in 1930.
Across the river from the town centre is the local cemetery where the Aboriginal tracker Billy Noongale, who accompanied the explorer John Forrest on his trek from Perth to Adelaide in 1870, is buried.