Built in 1842 to catch travellers to and from Melbourne 72 kilometres to the south, the Sunday Creek Inn - so named because explorers Hume and Hovell happened to camp by a nearby creek on the Sabbath - was the seed from which the small town of Broadfoot took root.
By 1854, when the town was gazetted, allotments were selling for $4 each around the cluster of hotels, a blacksmith shop and several stores.
When the railway between Melbourne and Albury-Wodonga cut off passing traffic it took a bold decision by James McDougall to open a paper mill to save the town. The paper industry still underpins the town’s economy.
Trout lure fishermen to the local streams and some of the town’s older buildings are preserved in Pioneer Park. The nearby Mt Disappointment State Forest boasts the 50m Murchison Falls and offers walking tracks and picnic grounds.
The town has a full events calendar that includes the Country Music Festival in February, a March Hare Fair, a Scottish Festival in October and the Broadford Show in November.