The first cattle introduced to an Illawarra region which would one day be famous for its own shorthorn breed were driven down the Bulli Mountain and south along the beach to Wollongong in 1815.
Bulli’s destiny, however, was to be etched in the dust of coal after Captain R. Westmacott discovered black gold on the region's first farm in 1838. Westmacott also forged the first trail down the mountain escarpment - a route still known as the Bulli Pass.
One explosion in the Bulli Mine claimed the lives of 81 of the township’s men and boys, most of whom are buried in the St Augustine’s Church graveyard.
Today, Bulli has been merged into the Wollongong urban sprawl, but the precinct retains much of its mining character.
Ironically for a town built on the blood, sweat and tears of its mining community, Bulli is perhaps best known today for its spectacular Illawarra Grevillea Park, whose 150 species of blooms attracts thousands of native birds.