One hundred kilometres upstream of Walgett, the Barwon River town of Collarenebri developed around an inn operated by William Earl as a watering and gathering hole for squatters who began moving their cattle into the region in the late 1850s.
Aptly, Earl named his pub the Squatters Arms and before long it was joined by a second inn. The growth didn’t go unnoticed by so-called gentleman bushranger Fred Ward (Captain Thunderbolt) who made periodic raids on the emerging town.
Today, the cattle herds have largely gone, replaced by sheep, wheat and cotton around the town that takes its name from the Aboriginal word for 'place of many flowers'.
These days, however, visitors are attracted by fish that lurk in local river reaches as much as for any wildflower displays. Since a local reserve was established in 1899, the regional Aborigines have buried the dead in a special cemetery which is registered as a sacred site. The cemetery contained more than 100 individual graves, some of which are symbolically marked with shells and artefacts.