Near the junction of the Collie and Harris rivers, 55 kilometres due east of Bunbury, Collie sits in the middle of dense jarrah forest at the heart of the only coalfields in WA.
Collie had its origins in 1829 when Dr Alexander Collie RN discovered the Collie River. The area was at first recognised as being useful as pasture lands for timber production, but with the discovery of coal in 1883 Collie's direction was well and truly set.
Timber was produced in abundance from the surrounding hardwood forest and agriculture sprung up on the periphery, but these were all subsidiary to the production of coal and related industries, which still form Collie's main economic base.
To the town’s east is Muja Power station, and to its west is the big Wellington Dam - a popular fishing, swimming and boating spot.
Closer to town, The Blue Pool - an old open cut mine that has filled with water - is another popular swimming hole.
In the township, the Old Shire Council building hosts an historical museum which examines the local coal mining industry, and the steam locomotive museum nearby celebrates the importance of the iron horse to the state’s development.