A quiet town at the centre of a fruit growing district now favoured by retirees and artists, Cygnet was originally named in 1793 by French navigator Admiral Bruny D’Entrecasteaux during a voyage in search of missing explorer Compte Jean de la Perouse.
Taken by the number of black swans in the bay, the Frenchman used his own language to name the inlet Port de Cygne Noir (Black Swan Port) which was later anglicised to Cygnet.
Wooden homes are a distinguishing feature of Cygnet, which also boasts one of Australia's oldest houses of worship in St James Catholic Church which was built in 1840.
The area is blessed with safe swimming beaches which also attract anglers. The local attractions include cherry orchards, gemstone fossicking fields, craft shops which display some of Tasmania’s finest classic clocks, the Hartzview Vineyard and the Talune Wildlife Park which features a range of native animals including the Tasmanian devil and koalas. It is fascinating bush-walking, fossicking and craft territory.