Dungog, on the Williams River, is an attractive town on one of the major access routes to the Barrington Tops National Park. Cattle, dairying and timber are the main industries, but there are also many ideal places for outdoor activities - bushwalking, canoeing, horseriding and camping. Chichester Dam is close by.
The town was originally established in 1838 as a command post for militia commissioned to protect settlers and to hunt down bushrangers. The old courthouse remains as the original element in the barracks complex which housed troops charged with protecting landowners from the likes of Captain Thuderbolt, Joe Burn and renegade Aboriginal tracker, Jimmy Governor.
Dungog’s prosperity has long been built on the quality of the local timber. Local forests provided much of the brush box used to finish the interior of the Sydney Opera House in the early 1970s.
The area is also rich in waterfall flanked bush-walking trails, trout stocked streams and dams, spectacular lookouts and picnic and barbeque nooks, while the historic village of Clarence Town lies 25km to the south-west.