A quiet town on the Huon Highway, Franklin is 45km south of Hobart. It sits on the banks of the Huon River and is at the centre of an orchard growing district.
Settled in 1804 by timber getters, Franklin was the first town in the Huon Valley
and was named for the first Governor of Tasmania, Sir John Franklin, who took up 260ha of riverside land.
Sir John might have been the Governor, but his wife, Lady Jane, was the power behind the vice-regal crest. As the Australian Dictionary of Biography observes, she was a woman "of idealism and mental activity, (who) was determined to assist in the creation of an infant nation". Through her efforts, Tasmania became the intellectual centre of Australian colonies during Franklin's term of office.
Today, restaurants, antique and craft shops operate from many of the faithfully restored timber buildings which line the town’s main street. One of the small town's standout old buildings is Ye Olde Franklin Tavern on the river.
The Huon Valley through which the river flows is world famous for its distinctive huon pine which has long been highly prized by shipbuilders.
Find out more about the Huon Valley and D'Entrecasteau Channel
region of Tasmania.