Sixty kilometres north of Clare on the Main North Road, Gulnare is a tiny village supporting surrounding sheep, beef and cereal farmers.
The area was first explored in the late 1830s by Edward John Eyre who made special mention of a ‘long watercourse’ he named the Broughton.
The Broughton forms about 20km to the east near Spalding where a number of streams, creeks and smaller rivers come together. The Broughton, which is fed by underground water and permanent, spring-fed pools, is stocked with trout which attract anglers from far and wide.
Geralka Rural Farm, 15km south of Spalding, gives visitors the opportunity of watching Clydesdales at work, to examine a collection of 300 vintage farm machines and to tour an underground copper mine.
Opened in 1922, the bridge which was built across the Broughton to extend the railway to Spalding, was added to the Heritage Resister in 1993.
The Spalding Hotel, which dates from 1877 and which was in the hands of the Fahey family for more than 65 years, hit hard times in the 1990s, but was saved by a community group which raised enough money to lease the old pub and keep the beer flowing.