Both the reach of the Brisbane River and the suburb of Hamilton take their name from Gustavus Hamilton, first innkeeper of the adjoining and historic Breakfast Creek Hotel.
This was a part of the colony where there was regular contact between early white settlers and the black guardians of the land. Even as convicts were hewing a carriageway from solid rock on the northern bank of the river, on a line now followed by the major arterial road of Kingsford Smith Drive, Aborigines were still gathering on the Hamilton flats for their corroborrees.
Historic Toorak House was built on what is now Anne Street by one-time Premier Sir James Dickson.Breakfast Creek Road hosts one of Brisbane's oldest, surviving private homes, Newstead House, which was built for pioneering Darling Downs pastoralist Patrick Leslie in 1846.
Used for some years in the mid-19th century as an official government residence, Newstead House is now in the guardianship of the Royal Historical Society.
The City Cat terminal alongside Cameron Rocks Reserve provides a scenic ferry link with the centre of Brisbane. Just a gentle stroll from the Brekky Creek hotel complex, the reserve is a popular spot for picnickers and wedding parties.