One of the first settlements on the eastern slopes of the Blue Mountains, Lawson was identified on early maps as 24 Mile Hollow - a name which was changed, curiously, to Christmas Swamp for a few years.
When the Blue Mountain Inn was opened in 1848, the locals adopted this name, which was also given to the original station after the rail line was pushed through in 1867.
The presence of a Blue Mountain on the Blue Mountains, however, became so thoroughly confusing for visitors that the authorities stepped in and renamed the picturesque village two-thirds of the way up the range, Lawson. This name was chosen in honour of William Lawson, who, along with William Wentworth and Gregory Blaxland blazed the first trail across the Great Dividing Range in 1813.
Today much of the region's natural wonders are preserved within the 245,930ha of the Blue Mountains National Park. Exploring some of the more remote and rugged areas in the park is exclusive to experienced bushwalkers and rock climbers and newcomers are advised to make the Blue Mountains Information Centre at Glenbrook their first port of call. The centre staff can provide sound advice and detailed brochures to help make your Blue Mountains visit a safe and enjoyable experience.