Cabonne Country was forbidden territory until Governor Darling’s Nineteen Counties edict barring squatters from making claims west of Molong Creek was lifted in 1832. Interestingly, one of the first to take up a block when the edict expired was Mary Marsden, daughter of the controversial church-leader and wealthy landlord Samuel. Molong was gazetted in 1847, but the town did not ‘take-off’ until the land boom of the 1870s. Most of the town’s signature buildings were erected in that period and they are preserved under a National Trust listing which embraces the entire main street. The grave of explorer Thomas Mitchell’s Aboriginal guide, Yaranigh, lies 2km out of town. Yaranigh, who died in 1850, was buried according to tribal rites and his grave is marked by four scarred trees and a headstone whose epitaph pays tribute to his courage and fidelity. The name Molong is drawn from the local Aboriginal word for 'place of many rocks.'