The Derwent River town of New Norfolk was founded in 1804 by land grants to settlers displaced by the abandonment of the Norfolk Island outpost. Weathered old buildings set among deciduous trees gives the town such a characteristic English look that the countryside is often described as ‘Kentish.’ Hops have been grown since the first settlement and, while the area is still the major supplier to breweries, the primary local industry today is paper manufacture. You will find one of the older links to the hop growing industry at Tynwald Park estate at the southern entrance to New Norfolk. The park includes a grand old home and an oast house which was used to dry the hops for more than 100 years until 1969 when it was converted into a museum. The town’s treasured buildings include one of the nation’s oldest pubs, the Bush Inn, while St Matthews (1823) is believed to be the oldest Anglican church in Australia. Nearby Salmon Ponds raised the first brown and rainbow trout in the southern hemisphere.