Port Wakefield was the first government-gazetted town north of Adelaide and its stock of well-preserved buildings reflects its distinctive place in the state’s heritage.
Ninety-nine kilometres north of Adelaide, the town was initially established at the head of Gulf St Vincent in the 1840s to ship copper from the mines in the Burra area. When the miners began moving their copper by rail in 1857, Port Wakefield turned to wheat and wool as its lifeblood.
The town’s dependence on the sea is reflected in the heritage walk and the Port Wakefield of today still beats to a seafaring rhythm. Recreational fishing is a way of life to the townsfolk and visitors can hire small craft at the wharf to try their luck with a rod and line.
White history on the head of the gulf began on March 30, 1802, when on the one momentous day the indefatigable Matthew Flinders named the Gulf of St Vincent in honour of Admiral Lord St Vincent and the peninsula for another Admiralty high flyer, the Rt Hon Charles Philip Yorke.