Once celebrated as the granary of the twin outposts of the colonial empire, NSW and Tasmania, Sorell has had a colourful history since Lieutenant-Governor William Sorell gave his name to the town in 1821.
Three years later, the fledgling settlement was captured by desperado Matthew Brady and Sorell still celebrates its brush with notoriety with a November Bushranger Festival.
Today prime lambs have taken over from wheat as the region’s prime producer and an increasing number of Hobartians are setting up weekenders in Sorell which is 27km east of the state capital.
Horse riding is a favourite local recreation and the trails cater for all needs up to two-day treks. Standouts in the stock of old colonial buildings are the barracks, the original police commissioner’s residence and two old inns, The Bluebell and The Plough and Harrow. Sorell is also graced with three, National Estate-listed churches: St George's (1826), Scot's (1842) and St Thomas's.