Straddling the Leichhardt Highway-Dawson River crossing in the fertile brigalow country of Queensland’s Western Downs, Taroom shares a special niche in history. A coolabah tree in the main street is branded with the letters LL - scored in the bark by explorer Ludwig Leichhardt in 1844 on his overland trek from Dalby to Darwin. A large sandstone monument dedicated to Leichhardt stands in the park beside the Taroom Shire Council Chambers. The serenity of the modern Taroom belies the settlement’s bloody beginnings. In 1857 Yeeman Aborigines, resentful of white encroachment on their tribal lands, attacked the Hornet Bank Station and slaughtered eight members of the Fraser family, the children’s tutor and two shepherds. The Yeeman paid dearly in subsequent reprisals by white settlers. Taroom which shares the banks of the picturesque Dawson River. Twenty-seven kilometres north of Taroom the Glebe Weir on the Dawson River attracts boaties, fishermen, picnickers and campers.