Now here’s a place for some interesting walks on and around a very strange rock formation, indeed. Discovered by Charles Sturt in 1834, The Rock, which became a nature reserve in 1962, was called 'Kengol' by local Aborigines before settlers dubbed it 'Hanging Rock,' which lasted until the 1870s when the overhanging piece gave way. The little town of the same name is about 32km south-west of Wagga Wagga in the Riverina district of southern NSW - a major irrigation producing fruit, vegetables, rice, wheat, meat and wool. The land around the town is quite flat, which makes the 364m Rock, all the more impressive. Walks on The Rock include the Yerong walking trail which meanders through a flora and fauna reserve. The trail starts in the parking lot at the base of The Rock and ends at the summit - a distance of about 3km. The return hike takes about three hours, but the views from the summit are worth the effort. The Rock is a favourite roost for the majestic wedge-tailed eagle and the peregrine falcon, the perfect killing machine which can dive at speeds of more than 300kph.