A peaceful little border town, Tooleybuc stands guard over one of the quaintly historic bridges over the Murray River. Constructed in 1907, the timber bridge was designed, as so many Murray crossings were in an era when the river was a major trading route, to open in the middle to allow paddle- steamers to pass through. The central section of the Tooleybuc bridge can still be raised to allow the odd pleasure craft through, but these days few calls are made on the ancient, hand-cranked machinery. You can, however, hop a ride on barges that still ply this section of the river. Tooleybuc also boasts one of the few ‘ring-trees’ still in existence. The trees were shaped by Aborigines who used to twist a limb back to the trunk of a sapling gum. As the tree matured, the twisted branch formed a ring which Aborigines recognised as a tribal boundary marker or as a pointer to a sacred site. Fishing is a way of life in these parts, but visitors can also enjoy the natural Murray ambience by taking a stroll along river-bank trails.