They like to tell a story about Tullamore - a little town in the middle of wheat and grazing country about 85km north-east of Condobolin in central-western NSW. It seems that a self-important publican by the name of Tully changed its name from Bullock Creek (after the creek near which the town stands) to Tullymore, in order to give himself some sort of immortality. But when the railroad finally arrived in 1910, the powers that be decided that an ‘a’ should replace the ’y’ in the now-gazetted town’s name and a bit of the publican’s gloss was lost. Just up the track is Jemalong Station, which preserves some interesting colonial buildings on its expansive holdings. The nearby town of Condobolin services the mainly wheat-growing activities of Lachlan Valley residents. The old Chinese section of the local cemetery is a reminder of the ethnic diversity on the goldfields on which hundreds of people prospered and more failed, or even perished around Condobolin in the 1880s. It is also a reminder of the violence perpetrated against the Chinese on the diggings during those wild and often lawless days.